top of page

B.A.D 5 Senses

Naturally Curious

Home: Welcome
Search
  • Writer's picturebad5senses

Staying Buoyant under Brunei

Brunei Darussalam, a small nation located on the island of Borneo, might not be well known, but it's wealthy on its own. Being rich with petroleum and natural gas, the government too acknowledge the importance conservation. There is very little threat to forests and biodiversity of Brunei. The country enjoys a high standard of living through its significant oil reserves and, with a relatively low population density, pressure on forest resources is very low. Timber exporting is banned and very limited logging activities harvest only to meet local needs. There are also a lot of effort in local reef conservation. My trip to Brunei was purely impulsive without any plans to explore the land. I was practically on a vacation where I'm either exploring some shipwrecks underwater or snoring away in the comfy air-conditioned guest rooms prepared by Oceanic Quest. The great hospitality provided by Steven, the owner, and crew just made going back to reality so much harder.


I've always heard from some dive buddies about how rough the seas can be over here and how awesome are the shipwrecks over here in Brunei, but it did not really got into my dive list just yet. This dive trip just hit me off guard, thanks to the dive buddies who found some great deal from the Dive Expo. Nonetheless, the experience was really an eye opener drawing my attention to wreck dives changing my perception of Brunei. Bolkiah Wreck, Dolphin88 Wreck, Bluewater Wreck, Cement Wreck, American Wreck are among some of the wrecks that I've visited this trip *Might be back for more soon*. The thrill of swimming through the shipwrecks maintaining my buoyancy, while trying to explore the rooms of the ships just keep me thinking of wreck diving again. Apart from that, the artifacts of the wrecks also paints a picture of its interesting history.



Among the dives, The Australian Wreck, well known for its haunting stories, chilled me the most, literally with cold water. We entered the wreck through the torpedo hole located starboard near to the bow, and swim aft in a tight and dark corridor. On Nitrox, I did exceed my Maximum Operating Depth the moment i enter the corridor of the shipwreck. Since I was not the last in the queue, I pressed on following through the expedition. Trying to stay focus, I switched off my camera and tucked it under my arms through out the swim through. This was the last photo I've taken before I entered the wreck.


Australian Wreck Bow; I entered the wreck from torpedo hole located at starboard

Hold on, diving in Brunei isn't just about shipwrecks! It's a habitat full of various topography filled with marine life! To start with, there's a pretty rig reef full of corals. Then there's Abana Reef full of what I call broccoli. Not forgetting the macros(e.g.: Allied Cowries showing their butt, Ornate Ghost Pipe fish, etc) and the school of barracudas, jacks, etc.



*Disclaimer: As a certified diver, you should understand the risk and your own limits before taking any risky acts while you dive. Enjoy a safe dive!


12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Home: Blog2

About

I'm B.A.D, A person with multiple interest ranging from artsy day dreaming to nerdy scientific deep thinking. I enjoy the process of travelling, however, chances of long travels are scarce due to quotidian tie downs.

​

Torn between Free-spirited travel bug and conformist white collar, my mind often wander in the opposite realm while I'm in another. I've been fond of photographing my experiences just like the others. That aside, outdoor have always been my preference. Bumping me in a mall is as hard as hitting the lottery.

​

Here, I shall share my artsy daydreams and my nerdy deep thoughts, just to contribute some content to the network and data lakes. Cheers!!

Home: Inner_about

Contact

Your details were sent successfully!

Home: Contact
bottom of page