top of page

B.A.D 5 Senses

Naturally Curious

Home: Welcome
Search
  • Writer's picturebad5senses

Lost Year 2020?!

So much going on around the world this year, it felt like I didn't get to do much yet. The pandemic sent the world into emergency ward for some months now and putting loads of plans on halt. Despite halting all the plans, it was a pretty eventful 6 months for me. From adapting to working from home, to fixing up the Land Cruiser, etc.


For those who haven't notice on my Instagram, if you have not followed my Instagram, here's the link Instagram, introducing the 29 year old Land Cruiser!!



I inherited this 2.8L diesel 4WD wagon from my late father who used it as a workhorse since he bought it in 1991 and I ought to restore and modify where possible, working within my budget; envisioning to build it up for touring and some simple trails. If you have any ideas on restoring and modifying this truck, do drop some comments below.


Coincidentally, I sent the Land Cruiser for some fixes just 2 days before the federal government put the country on Movement Control Order while I was also waiting for some Land Cruiser accessories shipment that was on their way at that point of time. Turns out the mechanic wasn't allowed to operate, so I'd have to retrieve my truck and either test my patience, or test my own skills. Good thing that I did not break anything trying to fix those accessories in. ;D I guess I know my truck a little bit better now?


As weeks go by, with me staying at home all the time, my mind just couldn't get off the truck, inspecting parts that are prone to wear and tear, listing them down, waiting for the mechanic to reopen his business eagerly. As the truck was a workhorse, I expect there are soil stuck somewhere within. I started stripping the interior to clean and inspect for rust.

and tada.. I stripped it all out!! This car is so much simpler compared to newer cars!



Now that the soil are gone and rust spots cleared off, I'm still eager to do a thorough rust check and repaint the entire truck and its undercarriage. But, again, it's a utility truck, do I really want to do that with my limited budget? May be I'll just channel the funds in other restorations and modifications. Too many ideas in my mind that I have to rethink and re-prioritize them whenever something new pops out. Quick tip to self, write them down! Duh!


The Land Cruiser is with the mechanic while I'm writing this post, for axle oil seal replacements, some diagnosis to make sure all the instruments at the dash is working, and further checks on any other leaks.


So have you lost your 2020? I know I thought so at some point of time but something is pulling me back on track and there are endless exploration to be done for life!


More to come on my land cruiser restore-mod series!! Stay tuned!


39 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Home: Blog2

About

I'm B.A.D, A person with multiple interest ranging from artsy day dreaming to nerdy scientific deep thinking. I enjoy the process of travelling, however, chances of long travels are scarce due to quotidian tie downs.

​

Torn between Free-spirited travel bug and conformist white collar, my mind often wander in the opposite realm while I'm in another. I've been fond of photographing my experiences just like the others. That aside, outdoor have always been my preference. Bumping me in a mall is as hard as hitting the lottery.

​

Here, I shall share my artsy daydreams and my nerdy deep thoughts, just to contribute some content to the network and data lakes. Cheers!!

Home: Inner_about

Contact

Your details were sent successfully!

Home: Contact
bottom of page