top of page

B.A.D 5 Senses

Naturally Curious

Home: Welcome
Search
  • Writer's picturebad5senses

Intruding Anilao as a Giant Underwater

It was a busy 2018, full of overtime work and fun days off. After months of overtime at work, I finally got near to a month off from work in December. Hence, off I go to some place where i can greet the ocean again! This is the first time i dive abroad and the experience was really different. The destination, Anilao, Batangas, Philippines!! Don't mistake it as an island, it's just a small town near to the shore south of Manila.

Travelling light, my luggage for the 5 days 4 nights trip was within 25 litres, including my camera (Sony RX100V) and Fantasea underwater housing for RX100V. Travelling time was pretty long as there's still a 3 hours drive from the Manila Ninoy Aquino International Airport. Thank goodness the dive trip organizer (Alpha Divers PLT) got everything sorted out, the entire trip was at the enjoyable pace.

Unlike the dive sites i used to visit in Malaysia, the dive sites that I've visited at Anilao are mostly sandy bottom and not full of corals. I'm glad that I have a underwater camera with me to really enjoy the dives. Marine life are all over the place, you just need to be patient and open up your eyes and mind as what you are about to see are not big fishes, but tiny marine life that we are too ignorant to pay attention to most of the time. My basic set of camera was just not fit enough to photograph and document the awesomeness of these tiny creatures. There is when dive buddies with poisonous camera gears come into the picture, lending their equipment part by part to me, showing the use of each additional piece. 90% of the species we spotted are all new to me! There's flamboyant cuttlefish, ghost pipefish, all sorts of shrimps, frogfish, Ambon scorpionfish, etc.

This was my first visit to the archipelago, and I feel curious more than insecure of Philippines already. I'm looking forward to return to Philippines again not only for scuba diving. Special thanks to Alpha Divers PLT and Acacia Resort and Dive center for the welcoming accommodation and arrangement.


Follow me at instagram @B.A.D.Bear or facebook @Eddy Beh !


19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Home: Blog2

About

I'm B.A.D, A person with multiple interest ranging from artsy day dreaming to nerdy scientific deep thinking. I enjoy the process of travelling, however, chances of long travels are scarce due to quotidian tie downs.

​

Torn between Free-spirited travel bug and conformist white collar, my mind often wander in the opposite realm while I'm in another. I've been fond of photographing my experiences just like the others. That aside, outdoor have always been my preference. Bumping me in a mall is as hard as hitting the lottery.

​

Here, I shall share my artsy daydreams and my nerdy deep thoughts, just to contribute some content to the network and data lakes. Cheers!!

Home: Inner_about

Contact

Your details were sent successfully!

Home: Contact
bottom of page